Search

Art & books

Monday, November 25, 2019

Sudbury's Mill Tye gallery is to stage its first exhibition of work by an internationally exhibited young artist based in the town.

Saturday, November 23, 2019

Suffolk ingredients are given a gallic twist in a new cookery book charting one man's culinary journey.

Wednesday, November 20, 2019

The Anna Airy exhibition, staged by the Ipswich Art Society, and held at the University of Suffolk, is one of the highlights of the cultural calendar. It's a waterfront showcase for bright young talent

Thursday, November 14, 2019

Flipside festival is more than a literary event, it's a place to explore ideas, enjoy experiences and swap stories. This weekend it's settling into its new home

Wednesday, November 13, 2019

The creation of bronze sculpture, Man of Stones, has been captured in a new immersive film-experience by photographer Bill Jackson. The work is being screened at this weekend's Flipside festival

Wednesday, November 6, 2019

Craftmakers often provide some of the most imaginative and unique Christmas presents you can receive. Blackthorpe Barn once again unveils some of the best showcases for elegant, handmade functional art

Monday, November 4, 2019

Gainsborough's House, the birthplace of iconic artist Thomas Gainsborough, has been awarded £100,000 by Arts Council England to transform its renowned print workshop.

Friday, November 1, 2019

A teenager's artwork inspired by her mental health journey has been sold at an auction to raise cash for support for young people.

Thursday, October 24, 2019

Thousands of terracotta figures are coming to an art gallery in Colchester as Antony Gormley's Turner Prize-winning installation comes to Firstsite.

Thursday, October 10, 2019

Ghostland, by Edward Parnell, explores the haunts of ghouls in literature and film, the natural and unnatural world, and the horror of his own family history.

Friday, October 4, 2019

A cameraman for the BBC has written a book about his time living in Antarctica filming wildlife for the David Attenborough series Dynasties

Wednesday, October 2, 2019

A previously unknown work by renowned Suffolk artist Sir Cedric Morris is set to be auctioned for up to £50,000.

Saturday, September 28, 2019

From a list of 90 entrants, a shortlist of three books in six categories has been announced for the East Anglian Book Awards 2019. Who are the contenders for East Anglian Book of the Year 2019?

Wednesday, September 25, 2019

Literary festival Flipside has new home this year, we browse line-up and see how the event is taking a hard look at what climate change means to Suffolk's heritage coast

Sunday, September 22, 2019

Ipswich Waterfront was overrun with fantastic sights and smells as the first-ever ArtEat festival came to the town.

Thursday, September 19, 2019

The scaffolding that shrouds the iconic rotunda at National Trust's Ickworth House will provide a canvas for an internationally-renowned artist as part of a £5 million conservation project.

Wednesday, September 18, 2019

The realities and hardships of farm life just a century ago are being brought to life by a new Suffolk folk fair.

Tuesday, September 17, 2019

Stunning images of a blue tit have won a photographer from Orford a prestigious British Wildlife Photography Award.

Wednesday, September 11, 2019

Iconic British designer Vivienne Westwood loves to work in silk and is often inspired by designs from the past. A new exhibition in Sudbury puts Westwood's designs in a suitably historic setting

Tuesday, September 10, 2019

A new arts festival looks set to make Ipswich Waterfront the community hub of the town.

Sunday, September 1, 2019

Art on the Prom returned to Felixstowe this weekend with thousands of people descending on the seafront.

Friday, August 30, 2019

Following on from the huge success of the Ed Sheeran concerts last weekend the star has encouraged his fans to head to the Made in Suffolk exhibition in Christchurch Mansion.

Thursday, August 29, 2019

Felixstowe's annual open-air art festival, Art on the Prom, returns this year with a carnival atmosphere and a timely message about the environmental dangers of single use plastic

Thursday, August 29, 2019

A new craze has swept Suffolk over the past few weeks as families hide story books for other children to find.

Wednesday, August 28, 2019

The home of DanceEast celebrates its tenth anniversary this year and revisits its construction with a dazzling art exhibition chronicling the building process. We take a look at the show

Tuesday, August 27, 2019

A row has broken out after a coin in honour of author Enid Blyton, who once lived in Ipswich, was scrapped - as she was branded "a racist, sexist homophobe".

Friday, August 23, 2019

Renowned Suffolk artist Maggi Hambling owns 15 of his oil paintings, and now other art enthusiasts have had the opportunity to buy the work of Chris Newson.

Tuesday, August 20, 2019

Singer-songwriter Ed Sheeran's journey to global stardom is explored in a new Made in Suffolk exhibition at Christchurch Mansion. We take a look at the vast array of memorablia on display

Sunday, August 18, 2019

An exhibition called 'Pests' has opened in Felixtowe and the vegan artist behind it hopes it will help people think about the damage they are doing to animals.

Thursday, August 15, 2019

An exhibition of Suffolk superstar Ed Sheeran's life is to open in Ipswich just days before his big shows in the borough.

Most read

Topic pages

MyDate24 MyPhotos24