Henry let off by FIFA
FRENCH striker Thierry Henry WILL NOT be punished for his handball in last year's World Cup game against the Republic of Ireland.FIFA concluded there was 'no legal foundation' for them to deal with the case.
FRENCH striker Thierry Henry WILL NOT be punished for his handball in last year's World Cup game against the Republic of Ireland.
FIFA concluded there was 'no legal foundation' for them to deal with the case.
FIFA said in a statement: "The disciplinary committee reached the conclusion that there was no legal foundation for the committee to consider the case because handling the ball cannot be regarded as a serious infringement as stipulated in article 77a) of the FIFA disciplinary code.
"There is no other legal text that would allow the committee to impose sanctions for any incidents missed by match officials.''
You may also want to watch:
The Football Association of Ireland were infuriated by the goal and demanded a replay, then even suggested they should be allowed to go to the World Cup as a 33rd team.
- 1 A12 closed following serious collision
- 2 Woodbridge bar owner to fight £1,000 fine for Covid rule breach
- 3 Man taken to hospital after 40ft container drops on lorry cab
- 4 Lorry driver hailed as hero after truck crushed in port accident
- 5 Former Town defender could be in the frame to become Cook's No.2 after Richardson blow
- 6 Car SOS to feature family who lost father and son
- 7 French pop-up restaurant owner unveils new seaside hotel plan
- 8 Woman in critical condition and man arrested after serious A12 crash
- 9 31 miserable stats which sum up a largely miserable Ipswich Town season
- 10 Missing person from Braintree has been found