Two Suffolk MPs are keeping their own counsel when it comes to the reason they abstained from voting on the report recommending Boris Johnson's suspension from Parliament.

Ipswich MP Tom Hunt, Suffolk Coastal MP Therese Coffey and South Suffolk MP James Cartlidge were not included in an overnight list of MPs to vote on the report on Monday evening.

Mr Hunt and Ms Coffey, who abstained from the vote, were contacted by this newspaper for comment, but no responses were received.

Mr Cartlidge was in Paris for the Defence Minister's conference on missile defence.

East Anglian Daily Times: Ipswich MP Tom Hunt.Ipswich MP Tom Hunt. (Image: UK Parliament)

The remaining three Conservative Suffolk MPs, Dan Poulter, Peter Aldous and Jo Churchill, also endorsed the sanctions against Mr Johnson recommended by the Privileges Committee, as did Conservative MP for Harwich and North Essex Sir Bernard Jenkin.

Matt Hancock, who now stands as an Independent MP since he had the whip withdrawn, also voted 'aye' to suspend Mr Johnson.

READ MORE: Few tears from Suffolk as Boris Johnson quits Commons

The result was announced in the chamber as 354 to seven, majority 347.

East Anglian Daily Times: Suffolk Coastal MP Therese Coffey.Suffolk Coastal MP Therese Coffey. (Image: UK Parliament)

The initial division list released by the Commons authorities contained 352 names in the ayes and six for the noes.

It may be updated further by parliamentary officials to include any missing names to ensure the numbers match the ones announced in the chamber.

Waveney MP Peter Aldous was one of the first MPs to call for Mr Johnson to resign as Prime Minister in February last year as the partygate revelations started to swirl.

East Anglian Daily Times: South Suffolk MP James Cartlidge.South Suffolk MP James Cartlidge. (Image: UK Parliament)

Though Central Suffolk and North Ipswich MP Dr Dan Poulter was an early backer of Mr Johnson when he ran for the leadership of the party in 2019, he felt his behaviour during and after the pandemic made his departure inevitable.

Now the motion has been passed with a majority vote, Mr Johnson has been stripped of special access to parliament.