Oakley strikes for victory on last corner

THE result of the Mud Sweat & Gears senior MTB race at Langdon Hills was in doubt until the last corner.

Dan Oakley of Chelmer Cycles and Darren Evans of Extreme Sports Therapy raced into the 180 degree turn around the end of a hedge. Oakley got there first, seized the racing line and the win was his.

Oakley and Evans were the last survivors of five riders who had formed a leading group during the seven laps of a hilly 4.5 mile circuit overlooking the Thames estuary at the Langdon Hills country park. Ian Mockett (Thetford MTB), Adi Scott (Corley Cycles) and Dan Howe (TROG) took the next three places.

The course featured long climbs and fast technical descents –

“The steepest descents I have ever ridden” said Sue Wood winner of the female veteran class in the longest race. Wood, of the Maldon & District CC was one of several regular cyclo-cross competitors sampling MTB racing before the Eastern Cyclo-Cross League resumes at Springfield Park, Chelmsford on Sunday .

You may also want to watch:

Other local class winners included Sean Dunlea (PCA Ciclos Uno) in the juvenile males and Emma Perks (Chelmer Cycles) in the U12 Girls while the fastest laps of all were put in by the sole Elite man Billy-Joe Whenman (Whyte Racing). Full results can be seen at www.timelaps.co.uk

In the 65 mile Shaftesbury CC road race near Thaxted a break of, eventually, seven riders finished with a four minute advantage over the rest. With around 15 miles to go Wayne Crombie (East London Velo) escaped from this break and went on to win. Team mate Roger Maidment naturally did not assist in chasing Crombie down and the period of recuperation sitting at the back of the group must have helped him win the sprint for second place, ahead of Gavin Moore (Stowmarket & District).

Most Read

There was no hiding from the wind in the CC Breckland 50 mile time trial. It was blowing straight along the Attleborough to Wymondham road; the hedges and embankments serving only to concentrate its effect. Those who recorded fast times did so against the odds. Winner Steve Berry from Kent club the San Fairy Ann CC did indeed improve to a remarkable 1:49:00, though he was seeking a bigger improvement to lift himself into the coveted Top Twelve of the Best British All-Rounder competition. Among local riders, Dave Green (RAFCA) was third in 1:52:38 and Ann Shuttleworth (Chelmer CC, 1:11:52) was best lady on handicap.

This Saturday’s East Anglian CC ten mile time trial, from Earsham to Redenhall and back has two surprise star entries – Emma Trott, who will be representing Britain in the Commonwealth Games in Delhi next month, starts at 15.25 hrs and Michael Hutchinson, who recently set a new 10 mile Competition Record of 17:57 is last man off at 1530.

CC Breckland 50, Leading and local club riders:

1 Steve Berry (San Fairy Ann CC) 1:49:00, 2 C Rimes (Fenland Clarion) 1:52:16, 3 D Green (RAFCA) 1:52:38.

API: G Frost 1:57:17,J Iszatt 2:1:03; Chelmer CC: G Painter 2:5:52, Ann Shuttleworth 2:11:52; Colchester Rovers: P Jarvis 2:1:02; Ipswich BC: A Jardine 2:00:54; CC Sudbury: R Davies 1:57:05, S Kirk 2:9:28;Wolsey RC: A Pearson 2:16:19, M Pearce 2:21:08.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter
Comments powered by Disqus