Three schools awarded £5,000 in Pupil Premium Awards for work in improving attainment for disadvantaged pupils

Nardeep Sharma, executive principal of The Colne Community School and College, Brightlingsea, welcom

Nardeep Sharma, executive principal of The Colne Community School and College, Brightlingsea, welcomed the news. - Credit: Andrew Partridge

Two schools in Essex and one in Suffolk have been awarded £5,000 each for their work in improving the attainment of disadvantaged pupils.

Colne Community School and College in Colchester, Clacton County High School and Claydon High School in Ipswich were among 16 schools in the East of England to have received the 2015 Pupil Premium Award.

The award recognises the achievements the schools have made for children, regardless of their background.

Nardeep Sharma, executive principal at Colne Community School and College, said: “We are delighted to have received national recognition for all the hard work and effort put in by our students and our staff.

“We provide the highest quality of education for all our children including the most vulnerable and we are particularly happy to receive recognition today as we are one of the many schools which have suffered significant budget cuts.”

Jeff Brindle, principal of Clacton County High School, added: “This is a stunning achievement for the school. Last year we were ranked in the top 100 schools in the country in terms of the progress made by our most disadvantaged learners, to receive a similar accolade once again is fantastic news.

“Regardless of background we are constantly seeking to remove any barriers to learning, to raise aspirations and to ensure that all students achieve the best they possibly can.”

Most Read

Sarah Skinner, headteacher at Claydon High School, said: “It’s fantastic. We just do the work anyway, but for the staff it is a really nice gesture. It’s not just the money, but the recognition that makes the difference too.”

The schools will now be able to apply for prizes worth up to £250,000, with final prizes being awarded at a ceremony in March, hosted by Deputy Prime Minister Nick Clegg.

As part of the 2015 awards, schools were able to compete for a share of the £4million prize, with the same figure set to be won in next year’s awards.