Wilford: Conservatives win SCC by-election

CONSERVATIVES held the Wilford division of Suffolk County Council in a by-election caused by the death of Rosie Clarke.

Andrew Reid took over half the votes cast yesterday. The result was announced in the early hours of this morning.

Mr Reid received 1,913 votes, with Liberal Democrat Christine Anne Beresford Hancock poling 796 and Labour’s Roy Burgon 758.

The total electorate was 6,455, the turn-out was 54.1% and the majority was 1,117. There were 28 spoilt ballot papers.

The share of the vote was Conservative 54.7% (down 5.8% from June 2009), Liberal Democrat 22.8% (down 7.4%) and Labour 21.7% (up 12.4%). The majority in 2009 was 924 and the turn-out was 48.9%.

You may also want to watch:

Mr Reid is due to serve until May 2013 when all the county council seats are set to be contested. The by-election was held following the death last December of cabinet member Rosie Clarke.

Parishes in the Wilford division are Alderton, Bawdsey, Benhall, Blaxhall, Boyton, Bromeswell, Butley, Capel St Andrew, Chillesford, Eyke, Farnham, Friston, Gedgrave, Hollesley, Iken, Orford, Ramsholt, Shottisham, Snape, Sternfield, Stratford St Andrew, Sudbourne, Sutton, Tunstall, and Wantisden.

Most Read

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter
Comments powered by Disqus