A new batch of Ipswich Town legends were inducted into the club’s Hall of Fame on Friday night. Andy Warren takes a look at all of those honoured since its inception in 2007. 

Ipswich Town Hall of Fame 


Mick Mills, John Wark, Ray Crawford, Ted Phillips 

The first batch of inductees was certainly a good one, with legendary scorers from the title-winning team of 1961/62 Crawford and Phillips joined by FA and UEFA Cup winners Mills and Wark. This quartet played more than 2,000 games and scored nearly 600 Ipswich goals between them. 

East Anglian Daily Times: Ray Crawford and Ted Phillips - Ipswich Town legendsRay Crawford and Ted Phillips - Ipswich Town legends


John Elsworthy, Jimmy Leadbetter, Kevin Beattie, Frans Thijssen 

Beattie, widely regarded to be the best player in the club’s history, was always going to make the Hall, as was legendary Dutchman Thijssen. So, too, Elsworthy and Leadbetter, two men who rose through the divisions with Ipswich before helping win the 1962 title.  


George Burley, Billy Baxter, Allan Hunter, Arnold Muhren, Roy Stephenson, Pat Godbold, Sir Bobby Robson 

Legendary boss Sir Bobby was inducted just a few months before his death, leading a class including three more of his players in Muhren, Hunter and Burley. The latter, of course, went on to lead Ipswich to the Premier League as manager. Also inducted was Pat Godbold, long-serving secretary to Town managers from Sir Alf Ramsey all the way through to Burley. Baxter and Stephenson, two more members of the 1962 team, were also named. 

East Anglian Daily Times: Terry Butcher is an Ipswich Town legendTerry Butcher is an Ipswich Town legend (Image: Archant)


Terry Butcher, Larry Carberry, Roger Osborne, Cyril Lea, Tommy Parker, John Cobbold 

Osborne, the scorer of Town’s Wembley winner in the 1978 FA Cup final, made the list in 2010 as did legendary Town and England defender Terry Butcher. Cyril Lea, one of Sir Bobby’s Ipswich coaches, was honoured, as was ‘62 title-winner Carberry alongside Parker, a stalwart captain from the 1940s and 50s. Former chairman Cobbold, who did so much for the club, was also inducted.   

East Anglian Daily Times: Sir Alf RamseySir Alf Ramsey (Image: Archant)


Russell Osman, Roy Bailey, Paul Mariner, Andy Nelson, John Compton, Doug Moran, Sir Alf Ramsey, the team of 1961/62 

The class of 2011 saw Sir Alf Ramsey and his entire 1962 title-winning team inducted, as well as Robson legends Osman and Mariner. Bailey, Nelson, Compton and Moran were part of that Ramsey side and entered the Hall individually. 


Eric Gates, Trevor Whymark, Basil Acres, Jimmy Forsyth 

Two more of Robson’s boys, Gates and Whymark, made the list alongside Acres, who helped Ipswich rise through the leagues but retired before the title win in 1962. Forsyth coached under Ramsey before serving as caretaker following his departure.  


Mick Stockwell, Brian Talbot, Alan Brazil, Dale Roberts, John Kerr, David Sheepshanks 

A good mix of on-pitch talent and off-field influencers, with former chairmen Sheepshanks and Kerr honoured as well as Burley’s long-time assistant, Roberts. Stockwell, who is inside the top 10 for games played in an Ipswich shirt, was joined by Robson players Brazil and Talbot. 

East Anglian Daily Times: Legendary former Ipswich Town boss John Lyall, pictured with former chairman John Kerr. Both are in the Hall of FameLegendary former Ipswich Town boss John Lyall, pictured with former chairman John Kerr. Both are in the Hall of Fame (Image: Archant)


Paul Cooper, Clive Woods, Matt Holland, Bryan Hamilton, John Lyall 

Lyall was the fourth former Town boss to make the Hall, having been the man behind promotion to the top flight in 1992. Cooper, Woods and Hamilton, from the Robson years, made it in as did the last man to lift a trophy in an Ipswich shirt – Holland. 


Bobby Ferguson, Jason Dozzell, Mick Lambert 

Sir Bobby’s long-time assistant, Ferguson, went on to manage the Blues following Robson’s departure for England, while Lambert was an important player throughout the 1970s. Dozzell remains the youngest player to score in England’s top flight, netting against Coventry aged just 16 and 57 days, back in 1984. 

East Anglian Daily Times: Tony Mowbray was a big part of the Ipswich Town side of the late 1990sTony Mowbray was a big part of the Ipswich Town side of the late 1990s


David Johnson, Colin Harper, Tony Mowbray, Simon Milton, Charlie Woods, Danny Hegan 

Mowbray, who scored at Wembley in his final professional appearance in 2000, was honoured alongside Milton, a man who has played an important role on and off the pitch for Ipswich during much of the last 30 years. David Johnson, the striker who played for Ipswich during the 1970s, made the list alongside former Town player and coach Woods, as well as Harper and Hegan, who played important roles in the 1960s and 70s. 


Steve McCall, Chris Kiwomya, David Rose 

McCall made more than 300 appearances for Ipswich in the 1980s, including during the 1981 run, before working for the club in various roles off the pitch. Kiwomya was a prolific scorer in the 90s while Rose served as club secretary for more than 40 years. 


Laurie Sivell 

Though largely an understudy to David Best and then Paul Cooper, Sivell was a vital part of Ipswich’s squad which won the FA Cup and UEFA Cup. 

East Anglian Daily Times: Hermann Hreidarsson is a Hall of FamerHermann Hreidarsson is a Hall of Famer (Image: � Copyright Stephen Waller)


Jason De Vos, Hermann Hreidarsson 

Two modern Ipswich icons made the Hall in 2019, with Canadian former skipper De Vos joining cult hero Hreidarsson, who was of course a major part of the Town side which finished fifth in the top flight in 2000/01. 


Kevin O’Callaghan, David Linighan, Gavin Johnson, Reg Pickett, Ken Malcolm, Doug Millward 

A nice range of eras in the 2022 class saw former skipper Linighan and Johnson inducted, following their work for the Blues in the early 90s. O’Callaghan was part of the 1981 squad, while Pickett, Malcolm and Millward were important players for the club in the 50s and 60s. 

East Anglian Daily Times: Marcus Stewart is one of the newest members of Ipswich Town's Hall of FameMarcus Stewart is one of the newest members of Ipswich Town's Hall of Fame (Image: Ross Halls)


Marcus Stewart, Jim Magilton, Frank Yallop, Tom Garneys 

Stewart and Magilton will be forever in Ipswich hearts following their exploits in the 2000 play-offs and what came next, with Magilton of course going on to manage the Blues. Yallop, a Canadian international, made nearly 400 appearances for the club as he helped win promotion for the inaugural Premiership season in 1992. Garneys played for the Blues in the 1950s, scoring 143 goals in 272 matches. 

East Anglian Daily Times: Marcus Stewart and Jim Magilton have been inducted into Ipswich Town's Hall of Fame Picture: PAMarcus Stewart and Jim Magilton have been inducted into Ipswich Town's Hall of Fame Picture: PA (Image: PA)