Arnold flies to the top of the time trial rankings

A CLUTCH of scintillating 10-mile time trial rides have set Mark Arnold at the top of the newly-issued 2010 East District Short Distance Rankings, writes Fergus Muir.

Arnold, of Team Pedal Revolution, achieved a new record average speed of 28.540 mph. His best four rides at ten miles in the District during the 2010 season were an impressive set – 20:06, 20:19, 20:20 and 20:25 – and lifted him clear of runner-up James Eman.

The competition includes all members of East District clubs who ride at least four open 10 mile and three open 25 mile time trials within the district, and the resulting rankings are perhaps the most competitive of the season-long time award lists in an age when few riders attempt the longer distances required for Best All-Rounder contests.

Arnold, who is often to be found marshalling and pushing off at events, as well as winning them, bases his training on the ride from his home in Red Lodge to work in Cambridge. Also from Red Lodge is fourth-placed Duncan Murphy who, like Arnold, is a new name in the top ten of the rankings.

Others new to the top echelon are Liam Gentry (VC Baracchi) who is eighth and 10th placed Gavin Moore of the Stowmarket club. Moore’s clubmate Andrew Leggett, who restricted his 2010 rides to sporting – and usually slower – courses in 2010, drops to ninth spot. Laura Gambling (CC Breckland) is the top-ranked woman in 31st place.

These awards will be among those presented at the EDCA Prize Presentation at Carbrooke Village Hall, near Watton on Sunday, January 30. The day starts with a 50 kilometre reliability trial at 10am. A buffet lunch, and this year a bar, will be available from noon and the awards will be presented at 1pm.

East District CA Short Distance Rankings 2010: 1 Mark Arnold (Team pedal Revolution) 28.540mph, 2 J Eman (Anglia Velo) 28.132, 3 G Rushmore (King’s Lynn CC) 27.240, 4 D Murphy (Diss & District) 27.020, 5 J Nixon (King’s Lynn CC) 26.561, 6 C Nudds (CC Breckland) 26.498, 7 D Staff (Anglia Velo) 26.369, 8 L Gentry (VC Baracchi) 26.348, 9 A Leggett (Stowmarket & District) 26.307, 10 G Moore (Stowmarket & District) 26.204, 11 D Lorne ((Norwich ABC) 26.041, 12 G Stevens (East Anglian CC) 26.034, 13 O Bannister (Stowmarket & District) 26.008, 14 A Jardine (Ipswich BC) 25.984, 15 J Rush (CC Sudbury) 25.911, 16 P Ellis (Diss & District) 25.873, 17 L Wright (North Norfolk Whs) 25.809, 18 B De’ath (Anglia Velo) 25.741, 19 M Pyne (Anglia Velo) 25.687, 20 E Dean (Norwich ABC) 25.515. 31 (1st Woman) Laura Gambling (CC Breckland) 24.306.

Most Read

James Eastwood is the man to beat after the first night of the Wattbike league at West Suffolk Wheelers new headquarters in Bury St Edmunds. Twenty-three riders entered the competition on the Wattbikes which are like very sophisticated exercise bikes, linked to the big screen. Eastwood’s nearest challenger was Dale Sturman, with Ben Mickleburgh third.

Several local cyclo-cross riders besides new Junior Champion Hugo Robinson are travelling to the final round of the National Trophy competition on the shores of Rutland Water. Tony Wilkins (Team Jewson) who was seventh in the 55-59 age category in the National Championship, contests the veteran’s race. Nathan Miller (XRT/Elmy Cycles), 39th last week, is in the senior race and Andrew Nichols (Cambridge University CC) tries to improve on his 15th place in the Under 23s.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter