Abbeygate’s Hannah proves the star performer at Ipswich Badminton League Championships

Honours all: Top row from left to right - Max Elvin, Theo Broom, Oliver Pearmain, Hannah Pamplin, Be

Honours all: Top row from left to right - Max Elvin, Theo Broom, Oliver Pearmain, Hannah Pamplin, Beth Scahill and Rachel Thompson. Bottom row from left to right- Sam Rahmanpour, Rylee Hoang, Zheng Chok and Grace Chester. - Credit: Archant

The Ipswich and District Badminton League Under-18 Championships took place at Whitton Sports Centre where Hannah Pamplin of the Abbeygate club was the star performer, picking up three titles.

The first success for Pamplin was the girls’ singles where she emerged undefeated in a round-robin event. Rachel Thompson (Felixstowe), who lost 21-10, 21-5 to Pamplin, won her other games to finish as runner-up.

Sam Rahmanpour (YMCA) won the opening boys’ singles game in Group A against Max Elvin (Woodbridge), 21-18, and this victory proved to be decisive as both players won their remaining group games.

In Group B, Rylee Hoang (YMCA) was undefeated and Oliver Pearmain (Stowmarket) who lost 21-16 to Hoang was runner-up. Rahmanpour and Hoang therefore met in a repeat of last week’s Under 15 final. Rahmanpour edged the first game 21-20 and pulled away from 13-all in the second, winning 21-15 to lift the trophy.

The doubles events were played in round-robin format where Pamplin won her second title, the girls’ doubles, partnered by Thompson.

You may also want to watch:

The Woodbridge pair, Grace Chester and Beth Scahill, were runners-up. In the boys’ doubles, two pairs, Theo Broom (Kesgrave) and Pearmain, and the YMCA pair, Zheng Chok and Hoang were undefeated with five wins each, when they met to decide the contest. Pearmain and Broom overpowered their younger opponents to come out on top, 21-6.

Pamplin completed her treble by winning the mixed doubles with Pearmain, a narrow 21-17 victory over runners-up, Scahill and Elvin, clinching the title.

Most Read

Results Summary:

Girls’ Singles: Winner – H Pamplin, Runner-up – R Thompson.

Boys’ Singles: Final - S Rahmanpour beat R Hoang 21-20, 21-15.

Girls’ Doubles: Winners – H Pamplin & R Thompson, Runners-up – G Chester & B Scahill.

Boys’ Doubles: Winners – T Broom & O Pearmain, Runners-up – Z Chok & R Hoang.

Mixed Doubles: Winners – H Pamplin & O Pearmain, Runners-Up – B Scahill & M Elvin.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter