Five Ipswich Town debuts at Crawley Town, while Paul Taylor starts

Paul Taylor, right, gets a rare start

Paul Taylor, right, gets a rare start

Ipswich Town manager Mick McCarthy has made eight changes from the side that beat Fulham at the weekend, for tonight’s Capital One Cup clash at Crawley Town.

With several players injured or rested as a precaution, only Elliott Hewitt, Luke Chambers and Christophe Berra retain their places, with Tyrone Mings, Tommy Smith, Luke Hyam, Cole Skuse, Dean Gerken, Jay Tabb, David McGoldrick and Daryl Murphy missing out.

Five players, Bartosz Bialkowski, Matthew Clarke, Kevin Bru, Alex Henshall and Jack Marriott make their full Town debuts, while there is also a place in the side for transfer-listed Paul Taylor.

Among the subs are academy products Byron Lawrence and Teddy Bishop, while summer signings Ben Wyatt, Darren McQueen and Balint Bajner are also on the bench.

TEAM: Bialkowski, Hewitt, Chambers, Berra, Clarke, Bru, Wordsworth, Taylor, Henshall, Nouble, Marriott

SUBS: Gerken, Wyatt, Lawrence, Hyam, Bishop, McQueen, Bajner

Read Stuart Watson’s verdict in tomorrow’s EADT and Ipswich Star

Most Read

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter