Four Town players in Hall of Fame

FOUR more players were inducted into the Ipswich Town Hall of Fame at the players’ reunion dinner at Portman Road last night.

And former chairman the late John Cobbold was granted a special merit award, which was presented by David Sheepshanks to Philip Hope-Cobbold.

Former Town skipper Tommy Parker was given a posthumous award and this was presented by Mick Mills and accepted by Mrs Kath Parker

The four Hall of Fame entrants were Larry Carberry (presented by Ray Crawford), Terry Butcher (presented by John Wark and accepted by Russell Osman on Butcher’s behalf), Cyril Lea (presented by Brian Talbot) and Roger Osborne (presented by Allan Hunter).

They were voted for by other members of the Hall of Fame and Bryan Hamilton who is chairman of the ex-players’ association.

Previously inducted were Mick Mills, Ted Phillips, Ray Crawford and John Wark in 2007, John Elsworthy, Frans Thijssen, Kevin Beattie and posthumously Jimmy Leadbetter in 2008 and George Burley, Arnold Muhren, Billy Baxter and Allan Hunter last year along with a special merit award for Sir Bobby Robson and Pat Godbold and a posthumous award to Roy Stephenson.