Nichols finishes season in style

FOR a few minutes it looked as if revenge might be in the offing at the Eastern Cyclo-Cross League’s end-of-season fun event, when league runner-up Shaun Aldous set the early pace.

FOR a few minutes it looked as if revenge might be in the offing at the Eastern Cyclo-Cross League’s end-of-season fun event, when league runner-up Shaun Aldous set the early pace.

But gradually Andy Nichols applied the power that made him champion and took and held the individual lead to the finish.

The race at Danbury Outdoors near Maldon was actually run as a team event, and Andy Nichols led his brother David and Richard Dunnett to a win for their Cyclo-Cross Research Team - made up for the day and named because the members are taking part in an experiment with power tap hubs. Aldous led the best club team, Extreme Sports Therapy, backed by Tim Guy and Glenn Stanford.

There was a separate youth team event with Lee Valley Youth CC and Essex Roads CC coming out top, while in the Under 12s an ad hoc Norfolk team won and Lee Valley Youth was top club team.

You may also want to watch:

After the race came the Eastern League prize presentation. The Maldon and District club, who were organisers of the end-of-season, event were the winners of the Best Club award – named in honour of Ivan Jeckell the journalist who reported 36 seasons of racing in the region. They also had the top two women in Sue Wood and Joolz Halpin. Other local clubs with winners included Ipswich Bicycle Club (Tim Butler, Veterans), Colchester Rovers (James Jobber, Juniors) and West Suffolk Wheelers (Alan Trolove, Youth).

Though taking a well-earned rest from racing, Hugo Robinson (XRT/Elmy Cycles) was there to receive the Ron Hunt Trophy for the Most Outstanding Under 18 rider from the former league press officer’s widow Joan.

Most Read

FINAL overall results of Eastern Cyclo-Cross League.

Best 8 events count

Seniors: 1 Andy Nichols (Cambridge University CC) 388 points, 2 Shaun Aldous (Extreme Sports Therapy) 385, Nathan Miller (XRT-Elmy Cycles) 379

Club: 1 Maldon & District 397, 2 Ipswich BC 385, Lee Valley Youth CC 373

Elite Veterans: Martin Carter (Unattached) 391, 2 Gavin Rumbles (CC Luton) 378, Ben Paton (Amis Velo RT) 371.4

Veterans: Tim Butler (Ipswich BC) 388, 2 Lee Desborough (St Ives CC) 362, 3 Geoff Bores (Ford CC) 360

Women: Sue Wood (Maldon & District) 400, 2 Joolz Halpin (Maldon & District) 385, 3 Rebecca Hammond (Maldon & Dist) 355

Juniors: James Jobber (Colchester Rovers) 373, 2 Patrick Cook (Ipswich BC) 370, 3 Hugo Robinson (XRT-Elmy Cycles) 350 (from 7 events)

Youth: Alan Trolove (West Suffolk Wheelers) 400, 2 Sean Dunlea (PCA Ciclos Uno) 385, 3 George Wood (Maldon & Dist) 356

Under 12: 1 Georg Jensen (Lea Valley Youth) 399.6, 2 Zak Coleman (Great Yarmouth CC) 391, 3 Pierce Bacon (Ipswich BC) 356

THE Golden Jubilee lunch of the Wolsey Road Club was attended by nine of the original 18 founders, and former members travelled from as far afield as Plymouth and Aberdeen in order to be present. Originally an offshoot of the Suffolk District Association of the CTC, the two organisations retain close links including this joint celebration, attended by 92 members and friends.

Guest Speaker Geoff Mayne of the Godric Cycling Club kept the diners entertained with stories of his cycling association with Ipswich during the 1960’s when he was a teacher in the town. Mike Havard replied on behalf of the two clubs, also keeping the diners smiling with tales of how in his youth he became a dedicated racing cyclist.

2010 Wolsey RC Club Champion was Andy Pearson, while the winner of the 25 mile cup was Robert Quarton – who was originally introduced to cycling as a schoolboy by Geoff Mayne.

Wolsey RC Awards:

Club Champion, Newman Cup & Fixed wheel trophy: Andy Pearson.

Veteran 25 Cup: John Coles.

25 Championship Cup: Robert Quarton.

Short Distance Shield: Ken Nichols.

10 Championship Cup & Road Race Cup: John Parkes.

Ladies B.A.R – Ladies 10 trophy: Maureen Nichols.

Ladies 25 trophy & Novice 25 trophy – Hillclimb Cup: Karen Eaton.

CTC Suffolk Awards:

Club Person of the year: Keith Halton.

Sunday Attendance – Thursday Points: Griff Griffiths.

Tuesday points: Peter Stanley.

NO less than 85 riders took part in West Suffolk Wheelers’ Suffolk Punch reliability trials and found themselves punching into strong winds for a good part of their time in the hilly country west of Bury.

The record number of entrants was partly due to riders wanting to catch up with their training, but perhaps mainly because the entry fee had been waived, and riders were asked for donations towards the East Anglian Air Ambulance – who had provided valuable assistance at a club-run accident in early January.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter