Newmarket 10K wins for Jones and Robson

Odette Robson, pictured winning the first Simplyhealth Great East Run in Ipswich, tasted victory at

Odette Robson, pictured winning the first Simplyhealth Great East Run in Ipswich, tasted victory at the Newmarket 10K last weekend. Picture: ANDY ABBOTT - Credit: Andy Abbott

The annual Marcus Gynn Newmarket 10K road race, held over the normal undulating course from Stetchworth on Sunday, saw victories for Ben Jones and Odette Robson.

A field of 223 tackled the scenic 10-kilometre route, led home by a dominant Jones, of Cambridge & Coleridge, who was a minute clear. Jones clocked 33mins 24secs.

Neil Pollard, of the host club Newmarket Joggers, was a runner-up in an excellent personal best time of 34:32 (also first over-40 veteran), while there was an outstanding run by junior athlete Joe Robson, who was third in 35:44 and also the top under-21 athlete.

Adam Howlett, of Framlingham Flyers, who finished first at the previous morning's Ipswich parkrun over 5K, was the leading veteran at Newmarket and sixth overall in 36:52.

Meanwhile, Odette Robson was the first female finisher, as well as leading her Saint Edmund Pacers' club to the team award.

You may also want to watch:

Over-45 veteran Robson was 20th overall in 40:31, with runner-up Sophie Darling, of Lincoln Wellington, just 21 seconds adrift in second slot and Cambridge & Coleridge's Rebecca Sharpe in third (41:25).

Jessie Gooderham boosted the winning Pacers' team with fourth slot (41:34), while Katie King (46:09) closed out the scoring team. It was a good day for the Bury St Edmunds-based Pacers, because Sharon Brandon scooped the top female over-50 award (47:45), and team-mate Dawn Marshall was the first over-55 (54:22).

Most Read

The race was named after young Newmarket Joggers club member Marcus Gynn, who sadly lost his fight against Sarcoma cancer three years ago. The race helped to raise funds of £1,000 towards the Sarcoma UK.

In addition to a large contingent of Newmarket Joggers helping to organise and marshal the event, 16 also took part in the race.


Top 20 men: 1 B Jones (Cam/Col) 33:24; 2 N Pollard (Newmarket Joggers) 34:32; 3 J Robson (Saint Edmund Pacers) 35:44; 4 H Beddows (Unattached) 35:49; 5 K Brady (Cam/Col) 36:35; 6 A Howlett (Fram/Flyers) 36:52; 7 J Anderson (Cam/Col) 37:21; 8 L Ashby (Un) 37:55; 9 T Bacon (Saffron Striders) 38:07; 10 M Hayden (Fram/Flyers) 38:19.

11 P Bulacz (Sudbury Joggers) 39:14; 12 A Belsom (Un) 39:15; 13 D Aguilar-Agon (Cam/Col) 39:33; 14 C Mower (Pacers) 39:39; 15 D Percy (Haverhill RC) 39:57; 16 M Lawrence (Haverhill RC) 40:14; 17 T Hayden (Fram/Flyers) 40:14; 18 J Favell (Un) 40:24; 19 S Ellis (Halstead RR) 40:26; 20 J Bevan (Newmarket) 50:55.

Top 10 ladies: 1 O Robson (Pacers) 40:31; 2 S Darling (Lincoln) 40:52; 3 R Sharpe (Cam/Col) 41:25; 4 J Gooderham (Pacers) 41:34; 5 L Thomas (Ely Runners) 43:23; 6 K Millard (Lonely Goat RC) 43:57; 7 A Armour (Un) 45:17; 8 K King (Pacers) 46:09; 9 D Spring (Un) 46:44; 10 E Saggers (Un) 47:06.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter
Comments powered by Disqus