Talented youngster Lyster Romero wins Anglia Velo 10

Lyster Romero won the Anglia Velo 10. Picture: FERGUS MUIR

Lyster Romero won the Anglia Velo 10. Picture: FERGUS MUIR - Credit: Archant

Overshooting the awkward Kentford turn in the Anglia Velo “ten” didn’t stop Wickham Market junior Lyster Romero from winning.

In the rain at the Diss Women's Road Race. Ipswich rider Katie Scotter (centre). Picture: JOHN ORBEA

In the rain at the Diss Women's Road Race. Ipswich rider Katie Scotter (centre). Picture: JOHN ORBEA, NEUTRAL SERVICE CC - Credit: Archant

Romero, who rides for Kent team Bottecchia Wigmore RT, finished in 20:20 but was left wondering if he could have beaten 20 minutes – a 30 mph average speed - if he had followed a perfect route.

Next fastest was Rendlesham rider Stuart Fairweather (20:43) with Philip Barnes of Hadleigh bikeshop TPH, completing the top three with 20:58.

There was a crosswind on the Risby-Kentford and back course with light rain at the turn for some. Starting first in the tandem event Gary Pamment and Barry McDonald (Velo Schils) wished their rivals a good and safe ride ...and disappeared up the road to win handsomely in 20:10.

In the Diss CC road races the organisers and the women had the worst of it. The organisers because last minute roadworks eliminated two-thirds of the course and the women because it took determination just to start as the heavens opened overhead. However club found a four mile trianglular circuit based at Kenninghall, and 18 women finished the race – the same number as the advance entry.

You may also want to watch:

In fact they had a good battle with Ipswich rider Katie Scotter often seen near the front and Francesca Cutts’ win coming after she broke away with fellow Londoner Catherine Coley with just over a lap to go.

In the 61 mile men’s race relatively unknown Cambridge CC rider Jim Bradford won alone after getting away from a group, including Pedal Power Ipswich man Ross Fawcett, that formed with about eight miles to go.

Most Read

Felixstowe MTB rider Elvita Branch won the Master (age 30-39) category at a wet and slippery XC (cross-country) national championships on Cannock Chase.

Also in the West Midlands, West Suffolk Wheeler Malcolm Borg covered in the region of 340 miles – full results are awaited - in the national championship 24 hour time trial – also much affected by rain.

In the same event Witham tricyclist Jayne Moore covered about 310 miles to win the oldest of all tricycle cups, the Tricycle Trophy which dates from 1913.

The fifth and final round of the Suffolk Cycle Race Series (SCRS) at Trinity Park, Ipswich, produced some exciting racing, made all the harder by an unrelenting wind blowing across the circuit. Ross Fawcett (Pedal Power Ipswich) moved up to the top step, having taken second in week four, winning comfortably from Mark Richards (VC Baracchi) and Will Mapus-Smith (Clwb Beicio Egni), the winner from week two.

The Women’s race saw Rebecca Johnson (Aprire/HSS) take a clean-sweep across all five of women’s races, sprinting clear of Gemma Melton (Pedal Power Ipswich), with Tanya Griffiths (Ipswich BC) in third.

The Cat Four race was won by Ben Rayment from Matt Peck (Ipswich BC) and Chris Whitby (RAF CA), the wind causing their race to splinter into number of groups out on the circuit.

The Fourth Cats sprint for the line at Trinity Park. Picture: JACK PAYNE, NATURAL PHOTOGRAPHY

The Fourth Cats sprint for the line at Trinity Park. Picture: JACK PAYNE, NATURAL PHOTOGRAPHY - Credit: Archant

The Youth racing saw the addition a race for the Under 12’s with Harley Gregory (West Suffolk Wheelers) winning the from Bradley Taylor (Colchester Rovers) and Barney Walters (Ipswich BC), the wind again, making this a hard won race.

The Boys race was won by Dexter Mansel-Thomas (Lee Valley Youth), his first win in the 2017 series, from Ryan Gooderham (TPH Racing) and Chris Springall (VC Norwich)in third.

The Youth A Girls race was won by Ellie-Mae Pledger (Lee Valley Youth) from Molly Cutmore(TPH), with Isabella Johnson (Boxford BC) riding in her first ever race, in third.

Jodie Taylor (Team Terminator) continued her dominance in Under 14 Girls, winning from Poppy Branton and Martha Lebentz(Hadleigh CC). The U14 Boys race saw Jake Crossley (Colchester Rovers )cross the finish line ahead of Josh Bowyer (Ipswich BC) and Charlie Johnson (Ipswich CSC).

Finally the overall league winners were presented with prizes provided by locally based cycle helmet and sunglasses distributor, Salice UK, who will back the series in 2018.

Jayne Moore sets out on her 300 mile plus ride. Picture: FERGUS MUIR

Jayne Moore sets out on her 300 mile plus ride. Picture: FERGUS MUIR - Credit: Archant

RESULTS: SUFFOLK CYCLE RACE SERIES – FINAL OVERALL: E1/2/3 Men: 1 Kieran Jarvis (CT OnForm), 2 Will Drury (PCH UK), 3 Jack Hardwicke (Strada Sport); E1/2/3 Women: 1 Rebecca Johnson (Aprire/HSS), 2 Gemma Melton (Pedal Power Ipswich), 3 Tanya Griffiths (Ipswich BC); Fourth Cats: 1 Ian Pearson (VC Revolution), 2 Gary Pearce (Iceni Velo), 3 Chris Whitby (RAFCA); YOUTH – U16: 1 Oliver Partner (Colchester Rovers), 2 Chris Springall (VC Norwich), 3 Freddie Grover (Fast Test); U16 Girls: 1 Molly Cutmore (TPH Racing), 2 Ellie-Mae Pledger (Lee Valley Youth) 3 Rose Brantonin: U14 Boys: 1Jake Crossley (Colchester Rovers), 2 Lewis Brinkhoff (KesgravePanthers CSC), 3 Josh Bowyer (Ipswich BC); U14 Girls 1 Jodie Taylor (Team Terminator), 2 Zoe Swainston (Colchester Rovers), 3 Poppy Branton.

DISS CC ROAD RACES - North Lopham: 1 Jim Bradford (Cambridge CC), 2 Ian Lee (Royal Air Force CA), 3 Ross Fawcett (Pedal Power Ipswich), 4 Tom Elwood (CC London), 5 Dale Johnston (VC Norwich), 6 Chris Crabtree (Team LCUK), 7 Gary Freeman (Fast Test RT), 8 William Drury (Pro Cycle Hire UK), 9 Jack Steven (East London Velo), 10 Bob Longstaff (Colchester Rovers CC).

WOMEN: 1 Francesca Cutts (CC London), 2 Catherine Coley (VC Londres), 3 Connie Hayes (LIV AWOL), 4 Lindsey Hamilton (Cambridge CC), 5 Sophie Lankford (Aprire/HSS), 6 Vivienne Tomlin (CC London), 7 Gina Heiss (CC London), 8 Polly Mason( Iceni Velo).

ANGLIA VELO 10, Risby: 1 Lyster Romero (Bottecchia Wigmore RT) 20:20, 2 Stuart Fairweather (VeloVelocity) 20:43, 3 Philip Barnes(TPH Racing) 20:58, 4 Nicholas Hastler (Essex Roads CC) 21:24, 5 Simon Scott (Anglia Velo) 21:38, 6 Simon Daw (Velo Schils) 21:40, 7 Angus Jardine (Ipswich BC) 21:42, 8 Mike Padfield (North Norfolk Whs)21:46. Women: Sue Triplow (Essex Roads) 22:32.

TANDEMS: 1 Gary Pamment /Barry McDonald (Velo Schils) 20:10,2 Ali Banks/ John Swanbury (VC Baracchi) 22:42.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter
Comments powered by Disqus