Tough day for Godric 10

Conditions at the weekend did not at all suit time trialling. “The worst day we have had this year” was Chris Nudds’ description of the Godric CC 10 on the Wortwell to Bungay and back course. It was cold, wet and there was a headwind on the longer outward leg.

Winner was Richard O’Rourke (Flitch Crono) in 20:33 ahead of Mark Arnold (Pedal Revolution) 21:11 and Angus Jardine (Ipswich BC)22:32. Jardine took the award for veterans aged 40-49, Nudds (23:49), that for the 60-69s. Anglia Velo’s Martin Pyne (23:57) was quickest among the 50-59s.

“Horrendously difficult” was one description of conditions in the Wisbech Wheelers 25 next day.

The wind was the culprit – nothing much stands in its way on the Wisbech bypass course.

Nevertheless Peter Balls of West Suffolk Wheelers won in a time of 54:03, only 1:52 slower than his own course record, even though he was using his training wheels, choosing to leave his disc for a calmer day.

You may also want to watch:

Mark Arnold (Pedal Revolution) was second in 54:18, Paul Ashby third in 55:19, while James Eman was fourth in 55:23 and led David Staff and Bobby De’ath to an Anglia Velo team win.

Bury St Edmunds cyclist Brian Phillips took part in the 112 mile Fred Whitton Challenge Sportive over the major passes in The Lake District. The scenery in this event is spectacular .

Most Read

“The wild, almost moonscape qualities of the valley between Hardknott and Wrynose for me define the ‘Fred’” says Philips, who has completed the event several times.

He describes how the riders come from all sorts of backgrounds, some serious club or triathlon competitors, others from fell running or mountain biking, and a fair proportion of touring and “normal” cyclists.

Phillips finished in 6 hours 45 minutes which compares with 5:47 for the fastest -Rob Jebb, seven times winner of the Three Peaks cyclo-cross - and 13 hours plus for the slowest of the 1000 odd riders.


Godric CC 10:

1 Richard O’Rourke (Flitch Crono) 20:33, M Arnold (Pedal Revolution) 21:11, 3 A Jardine (Ipswich BC) 22:32, 4 D Staff (Anglia Velo) 22:44, 5 D Murphy (Diss & District) 23:05, 6 D Brabham (Flitch Crono) 23:11.

Lady: Nicola Hawkes (VC Baracchi) 28:41.

Wisbech Whs 25:

1 Peter Balls (West Suffolk Whs) 54:03, 2 M Arnold (Pedal Revolution) 54:18, 3 P Ashby (Wisbech Whs) 55:19, 4 J Eman (Anglia Velo) 55:23, 5 A Dyason (St Ives CC) 55:26, 6 G Rushmore (King’s Lynn CC) 55:46.

Lady: Catherine Essex (King’s Lynn CC) 1:3:09.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter