Was it or wasn't it a try?

ENGLAND rugby fans are today watching replays of Mark Cueto's disallowed try in a bid to see whether or not it should have counted.The try in last night's Rugby World Cup 15-6 defeat to South Africa was disallowed because Cueto was judged to be in touch, or off the field of play, in the moment before he placed the ball over the line.

ENGLAND rugby fans are today watching replays of Mark Cueto's disallowed try in a bid to see whether or not it should have counted.

The try in last night's Rugby World Cup 15-6 defeat to South Africa was disallowed because Cueto was judged to be in touch, or off the field of play, in the moment before he placed the ball over the line.

According to the International Rugby Board's Official Laws of the Game 2007, a try is scored when a player places the ball on the ground between the goal line and dead ball line.

While there is no argument that Cueto placed the ball over the line, all it takes is for any part of the player's body to touch the touchline or the ground beyond the touchline for the ball to be considered out of play.


You may also want to watch:


Stuart Dickinson, the match official watching the replay, ruled Cueto had just put a foot in touch when he was tackled before crossing the goal line.

Most Read

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter