Winners are celebrated at Ipswich League’s awards night

GRESHAM Sports & Social Club played host to the annual Ipswich & District Badminton League presentation evening at the weekend.

Divisional winners Abbeygate, Corinthians, YMCA, Kesgrave, Thorpeness and Belstead were presented with their trophies by IDBL chairperson, Linda Sheppard, along with the individual winners of the championships and veterans’ tournament and Kesgrave and Felixstowe, who shared the Playford Trophy.

In Division One, YMCA won the mixed title for the 10th year in a row, but their run of success in the ladies’ competition, extending back to the 2003-4 season, was broken, as Abbeygate, the 2002-3 winners, came out on top.

In a tight finish, where three points separated the top four clubs, Abbeygate and Stowmarket both finished with 19 points, but Abbeygate’s winning margin in their last match was sufficient to secure the title on games won overall.

The Corinthians club, one of the founder members of the men’s league, won the men’s Division One for the first time in their history, finishing one point above YMCA, last year’s winners.

You may also want to watch:

Other notable successes included Kesgrave men’s and Belstead’s ladies teams, who both won Division Two titles to reach Division One for the first time, and Thorpeness Men’s, the Division Four winners, who secured promotion for the fourth year running since joining the league in the 2008-9 season.

Most Read

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter