KEY DATES: The stand-out fixtures during Paul Hurst’s first season as Ipswich Town manager

Paul Hurst officially started work as Ipswich Town manager last Monday. Photo: Steve Waller

Paul Hurst officially started work as Ipswich Town manager last Monday. Photo: Steve Waller - Credit: Picture: Steve Waller

Ipswich Town now know their 2018/19 Championship schedule, with players, staff and fans alike now able to plan their lives between now and May.

READ THE FULL FIXTURE LIST HERE

New Ipswich Town manager will be looking to make a fast start after taking over at Portman Road, with his first game being against Blues legend Tony Mowbray at Portman Road on August 4.

There will be an early reunion with Rotherham, who beat Hurst’s Shrewsbury in the League One play-off final in May, before games against beaten Championship play-off sides Aston Villa and Derby.

Eyes will then quickly move to the first East Anglian Derby of the season, with Norwich visiting Portman Road on September 1 before the return at Carrow Road on February 9. Dates for both games are likely to change, though, with a switch to the usual Sunday lunchtime slot likely.

Town are on the road on Boxing Day as they face QPR at Loftus Road, with the final day of the season seeing Marcelo Bielsa visit Portman Road with Leeds.

MORE: Hurst’s start, festive fixtures and derby days – talking points from Ipswich Town 2018/19 schedule


You may also want to watch:


Derby days

Saturday September 1 - Ipswich Town v Norwich City

Most Read

Saturday February 9 - Norwich City v Ipswich Town

*both games likely to be moved to follow day

First five

Saturday August 4 – Blackburn Rovers (h)

Saturday August 11 – Rotherham Utd (a)

Saturday August 18 – Aston Villa (h)

Tuesday August 21 – Derby County (a)

Saturday August 25 – Sheffield Weds (a)

Last five

Saturday April 13 – Birmingham City (h)

Friday April 19 – Preston NE (a)

Monday April 22 – Swansea City (h)

Saturday April 27 – Sheffield Utd (a)

Sunday May 5 – Leeds Utd (h)

Holiday games

Last Saturday before Christmas: Saturday December 22 – Sheffield Utd (h)

Boxing Day: Wednesday December 26 - QPR (a)

New Year’s Day: Monday January 1 - Millwall (h)

Good Friday: Friday, April 19 - Preston NE (a)

Easter Monday: Monday, April 22 - Swansea City (h)

READ THE FULL FIXTURE LIST HERE

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter
Comments powered by Disqus